There’s Something to Being Positive! Meet 102 yr. old-Charlie McMahan!

4 Mar

Winston Churchill once said: “For myself, I’m an optimist-It does not seem to be much use being anything else.” I agree!  But unfortunately the world we live in must question the value of being positive–All I can say is–they need to meet Charlie!

One of the most inspirational people I’ve ever met is my great “WHO friend” Jim McMahan’s Gramps-Charlie.  Charlie is 102 years and two months old! Born in 1907!  He has touched every decade in the last century and now is into the next one. Charlie’s an amazing wealth of wisdom, joy and love to his family and friends.  Being with his gramps is one of Jim’s favorite “moments!”  He is always bragging on him!  You would too!

Just think about it!  Charlie’s been through World War’s, the Great Depression, from President Teddy Roosevelt to President Obama.  Without a doubt, the most important development in transportation during Charlie’s life was the rise of the gas powered automobile and the airplane!!  Other great people born in 1907 besides Charlie- Gene Autry, John Wayne, Laurence Olivier and Katherine Hepburn-He’s outlived em all!  Can you imagine what a blessing it would be to have “Great-Great Grandchildren” you could mentor and encourage like Charlie does!

I had the honor and opportunity to talk to Charlie this year on his birthday in December and asked him: “How are you Charlie?  How you feeling?”  He told me: “Ya know Bob, its probably one of best days I’ve ever had, I’m so blessed!”  He said this with such a passionate committed tone in his voice.  Then he said: “Overall, I dont have any big aches or pains and I gotta tell you Bob, I believe I am the richest man in the world because I have so many friends and people who care about me.”

In Proverbs it says: “A cheerful heart is good medicine!”  It sure has been for Charlie McMahan!  Charlie sees life as a glass half-full!  He always tells Jim to enjoy life, slow down-visit with people, be balanced, and yes…help others.  Jim’s a chip off the old block!  One of Charlies tips: Take a nap every day or at least on the weekend!  (I need that! How about you?)

Im sure your not surprised that Charlie is still an avid reader, so I sent him a copy of my new book and here is the picture he sent back!  I’ll treasure this! So is there “something” to being positive? Yes!  And Charlie is a beacon of light on the subject!  He reminds us all: Life is a gift.  Never forget to enjoy and bask in every moment you are in!  Thank you Charlie McMahan! You clearly “Got WHO!”

3 Responses to “There’s Something to Being Positive! Meet 102 yr. old-Charlie McMahan!”

  1. Cheryl Capshaw March 4, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    This incredible man (charlie) is my paternal grandfather, and he truly is an inspiration and a hero. He has been through some really rough times from his childhood and onward and he always came out better, rather than bitter. Thanks for celebrating him on your blog.

  2. Kris shelton March 5, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    The story about Charlie McMahan was awesome! I know him personally, and he is the most positive person I have met. The Lord has given Charlie these 102 years, but the true blessing is having the priviledge to know and share a small part with him. Thanks for telling the story so others can know about this inspiring man. Kris Shelton

  3. Cathy L. McMahan March 5, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    YES BOB – MY grandfather is AWESOME! He has been there for EVERY one of his children (3), grandchildren (12)and he has (18) great grandchildren; also (4)great great grandchildren and another on the way! I had the privilege to spend “summer of 2004 in Florida” with CHM; his last in his apartment before moving to assisted living. He is always positive, smiling and has a kind word for all! Thanks for covering his life and including him in your recent blog! Happy B-day!

Leave a Reply

